Company History

founders

Left: John “Buddy” Holum Buestad
Right: Christian Tonnes Buestad

A family owned company since 1948

The Buestad family’s history is rooted in the construction industry. Christian Tonnes Buestad served as the site superintendent for M&K Corporation and was responsible for projects including the Union Street Garage in San Francisco, the San Francisco Police Station, and the South Terminal of the San Francisco Airport.

Buestad Construction was founded in 1948 by John H. “Buddy” Buestad who, like his father Christian Buestad, was a builder. Buddy located his company in his home town of Alameda and focused on serving the Bay Area with quality construction for a competitive price. Some of Buddy’s noteworthy projects included the Alameda Municipal Golf Course, E. Morris Cox School in Oakland, and the Oakland Boys Detention Center.

Buddy’s son, and current Buestad Construction President, John C. Buestad, began his construction career working as a carpenter for Midstate Construction in Petaluma, CA. In 1977, John left Midstate to join his father’s business as a co-owner. Upon Buddy’s retirement in 1982, John took over the reins and has successfully run the business ever since. John’s son Christian is continuing the family tradition and is now a Co-Owner of the company as well as working as a Project Manager.

“Committed To Quality And Enduring Values”

65th